Twitter

I creep.  I admit it.  Isn’t it a sign of good parenting?  Kids put shit out there. Do they really expect we aren’t going to read it?  I visit my daughter, M’s, Twitter daily, which is fine—she follows me, too.  Her posts are pretty mundane. 

But sometimes following a conversation leads me to creep on other kids’ sites.  I visited the Twitter feed of a former best friend of M’s.  This friend—let’s call HER Katy—is a train wreck.  Her feed is full of angst over when and where she is going to score a cigarette, having the munchies, “drinking Coors Lite like it’s juice”, bragging about driving drunk, and skipping school.  It is highly doubtful that her mother has ever visited her site (it’s not set to private) since she refers to her as slang for female anatomy.

Katy was baptized in the Big Popular Baptist Church a couple of years ago.  She went through True Love Waits and went to summer camp at Liberty “University”.    After her sins were washed away in a big trough in front of hundreds she was supposed to receive a new spirit. I guess the one she got was defective or something. 

Some of the other kids we know who went through the programs mentioned above have taken it much more seriously.  They are turning into upstart little fundamentalists.  Honestly, I don’t know which case is sadder.

About Brick Window

A mother and an atheist--Just trying to do the best I can in a suburb full of believers.
This entry was posted in Little Fundies, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Twitter

  1. Bud says:

    I’m a father, and I can’t help but wonder where one should draw the line between creeping and respecting a kid’s privacy. Perhaps I wouldn’t read my daughter’s diary, but I would definitely monitor her Internet activity, and especially Facebook and Twitter. I guess there is no one answer for every child in every situation, and I’d rather err on the side of safety. Kids will have their entire adult life to be free and private, and until they reach that point – as long as they are our responsibilities as parents – then I think a little creeping is a good thing.

  2. Brick Window says:

    Thanks for being my first comment, Bud. I think if kids put stufff out on the web, than it’s public, and I have a right to see it as much as a stranger does. I don’t think I would read my daughter’s diary, although my husband feels justified in occasionally picking up her phone and reading her text messages. I don’t go that far, but I am ok with him doing it.
    And I always ask if there was anything I should know…

  3. Denise says:

    Thank Hemant for my having found your blog…and adding it to my blogroll.

    🙂

    And…yeah…as a parent who is involved, reading this is both affirming and disheartening. *sigh* But I’m also reminded that kids manage somehow to survive – despite their parents. *nod*

    • Brick Window says:

      Thanks, Denise, for commenting and for the ad. I started this the other day because I am in a constant struggle to be the best parent I can be. I don’t have any support as a parent and as an atheist–there just isn’t a lot of mothers in my world who will admit to their lack of faith.

      Thank you Hemant! For today I feel less alone.

      • Denise says:

        I was raised in the church, and let go of faith many years ago.

        I’ve found the Internet to be a well-spring of support (along with a plethora of the faithfully annoying). As a parent who has raised her kids without god (particularly in the Deep South), please know you’re NOT alone. If you ever need a virtual shoulder & ear….I’m here. 🙂

  4. Brick Window says:

    Thank you. Today is a good day.

Leave a Reply

