Grit

People who are nice–people who are tolerant–people who can remain calm–impress me.  I’ve seen a lot of examples of it recently, both IRL and online. 

Most of the time I just don’t feel like being very nice.  I want to jump up and down and scream THINK!! THINK!!!  It’s hard work suppressing these urges.

I find it difficult to teach my children to stand up for themselves, and to fight ignorance and discrimination and to also be compassionate.  I know the best way to teach is to model.  So, on I try…

I hope I learn to calm down before my current strategy of clenching my jaw shut has broken every tooth in my mouth.

About Brick Window

A mother and an atheist--Just trying to do the best I can in a suburb full of believers.
This entry was posted in Tolerance. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grit

  1. prosey says:

    *sends hugs*

    *grin* ~ I tried to keep the blog entry funny, for the most part. 😉

Leave a Reply

