Life Manifesto – From the View of an Atheist Parent Part III

Part I and Part II

I TRUST DEMOCRACY     Take your responsibility as an American citizen seriously. Be an informed voter.  Get involved in the process, study current events and challenge your opinions.   Remember those without a voice; the health, welfare and educating of children should be always be a top priority.  Obey the law, and work to change what is unfair.  Do not engage in illegal drug use as its illicit trade is a threat to peaceful, free society and contributes to the most violent and lawless part of our culture.

I HONOR CIVIC SERVICE     Choose an occupation that does more than just provides wealth.  Respect and honor those who dedicate their lives to your health and safety.  Be a volunteer.  Support the arts with your talents, time and money.

I STRIVE TO BE A STEWARD OF OUR PLANET     Once a day go outside and take a moment to reflect upon the beauty of the earth.  Bask in the transcendent experience of being a part of nature.  Resist the urge to be a conspicuous consumer.  Make good, conscious choices.  Contribute to conservation efforts.

About Brick Window

A mother and an atheist--Just trying to do the best I can in a suburb full of believers.
This entry was posted in Morality, My Manifesto. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Manifesto – From the View of an Atheist Parent Part III

  1. prosey says:

    I’ll go back to Part II later today sometime…honest…and get my thoughts laid out. 🙂

    This one, I really love. I find this entry SO ironic in the face of xianity versus actual biblical teachings (and the teachings of many world religions) that state plainly the importance of democratic principle, civic service, and good stewardship. *nod*

    The *only* hiccup I’ve ever had with democracy -and this is difficult to articulate simply- is that I’m a proponent of democratic *principle* within a society that abides by the rule of law. Pure democracy actually sorta scares me unless it is framed within the context of an orderly society…since, after all, pure democracy can be argued as being dangerous, too (think lynch mobs or prison riots). Aside from that, I’m just *loving* this manifesto series you’ve put together. 😀

  2. Pingback: Life Manifesto – From the View of an Atheist Parent Part IV | Brick Window

  3. Jay Walker says:

    This manifesto reminds me of The Humanist Manifesto, http://www.americanhumanist.org/Who_We_Are/About_Humanism/Humanist_Manifesto_I. Of course the wording is completely different and the topics are approached differently, but the basic principles are the same.

    I’ve always told my kids that it isn’t enough to believe in something, but you need to know WHY you believe what you believe. What you have here is a prefect example of that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

