National Day of Delusion

So far the Washington Post (my homepage, daily read -er, skim- and local paper), the blogosphere and Facebook have ignored today as the National Day of Prayer.  But I can’t.

This video is without a doubt one of the scariest things I have seen in a long time.  But want to see something scarier?  Go to the National Day of Prayer Task Force’s website.  Click around a bit, if you can stomach it, and you will find this:

“Prayer = Love
Prayer works in the context of relationship. Once the relationship is established, you will find that prayer is its natural expression. It is simply speaking and listening to your Heavenly Father. God wants to answer our prayers. Answered prayer is how He manifests Himself in our life and makes this relationship personal “For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.” Prayer is the intimacy that flows spontaneously from a loving relationship.”

Then it gets worse. 

“Have you found that prayer does not work for you? Perhaps you need to start with the relationship.
Click here to learn how

The link takes you to the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association website. 

So let’s review:

  • Our Government wants us to pray to avoid cataclysm (as suggested by that ridiculous video.)
  • We should all to it today.
  • Prayers aren’t working?  Oh Noes!  Your relationship is wrong!
  • You have to be an Evangelical (Fundagelical) Christian first!  Here, go let Billy Graham show you how to do it right!

I think I’m going to be sick.

About Brick Window

A mother and an atheist--Just trying to do the best I can in a suburb full of believers.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Fear. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to National Day of Delusion

  1. Jay Walker says:

    The Freedom From Religion Foundation sued the U.S. government last year to stop the president from declaring a national day of prayer and won, but since the government appealed, the president was allowed to go ahead anyway while the appeal process proceeded. To my knowledge, the appeal is still pending. Let’s hope the win on appeal so that this national day of delusion will stop.

    I have heard their president, Dan Barker, speak about it on a couple different occasions. He’s a very interesting fellow. He’s a former fundigelical minister turned atheist. He’s a very powerful and persuasive speaker.

  2. Brick Window says:

    Thanks for bringing that to my attention, Jay. After I read your comment, I remember Hemant Mehta discussing the lawsuit on Friendly Atheist. This appeal should win, right? Religion aside, the blatant Christianity of the whole deal is just disgusting.

    I know of Dan Barker. I haven’t read any of his books yet, but they are on my list.

  3. fribnit says:

    to me a National Day of Prayer is on the list of most dangerous incursions against the Constitution.

    It is a day that by definition separates people by faith (or lack thereof). It ensures that non-Christians, Atheists and even those Christians that recognize that (as meant by a NDoP) is utterly ridiculous, are excluded. And it ESTABLISHES RELIGION!

    If you want to pray, go ahead. You don’t need the Government to say that this is the day to do it.

    I am going to be quiet now before I go in to a full blown rant……

  4. Brick Window says:

    It’s 1:36 pm and I still have seen very little about it yet today. Has anyone else noticed it’s been much more low key than in the past?
    Last year my dumbass friend read the bible on the steps of the Capitol! I kid you not! This year, not even a Facebook mention.
    Strange.

  5. fribnit says:

    “Prayer works in the context of relationship. Once the relationship is established, you will find that prayer is its natural expression.”

    I have a very well established relationship with my wife and prayer has NEVER entered in to it, begging yes, but never prayer.

  6. Jay Walker says:

    Oh, like I’m the only perverted atheist around here? 🙂 Or am I? Hmmm… LOL

  7. prosey says:

    I saw that video before and just CRINGED.

    In reading through the comments, and the obvious mention of violation of separation of church & state, I have to point out (and it brings me no joy to do so), that people in the state where I live are often surprised when I route them to the governor’s web page with the link to faith-based crap…which links to a federal web page of the same ilk.

    I know many christians who don’t agree with it…and who had NO idea that there was faith-based shit in state and federal web pages. So the whole “day of prayer” thing doesn’t surprise me in the least. It disgusts me, but doesn’t surprise me. *sigh*

  8. fribnit says:

    Is it my imagination or do the church goer’s at the beginning of this video look like something from Children of The Corn?

    • prosey says:

      ROFL ~ that’s what I said the first time I watched the video…XD I kept waiting for Malachi or “He Who Walks Behind The Rows”….*wanders away giggling*

Leave a Reply

