A Whole New World

Here’s a quick and positive story to get the ball rolling.

M had her college orientation a few days ago.  Aside from the overwhelming stress of
scheduling conflicts between mandatory classes and mandatory practices and the terrible pain of saying goodbye to my first baby, it was great.  In this world that I navigate, of conservatives and fundamentalist Christians and military officers and government workers, I had forgotten: University Students are unabashedly Liberal.  I saw a lot of cringing parents, but I was elated.  What a breath of fresh air.

On campus, the big “Be a Virgin” game doesn’t exist.  It is assumed that the students are having sex.  The big push is safety.  Everyone is given free condoms.

On campus, a trip to the Rally to Restore Sanity is promoted as one of great activities the school sponsors.

On campus, students are proud of the fact their Homecoming Queen was a transvestite.

And last but not least–

On campus, orientation includes a skit about all the fun activities held during the first week of school, where the punch-line/lesson is how Rowing Club isn’t a way to get exercise on the water, but the way a religious group tries to trick freshmen.  And how funny it was because the actors in the skit were…dare they say it??? Atheists!!

About Brick Window

A mother and an atheist--Just trying to do the best I can in a suburb full of believers.
This entry was posted in College. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Whole New World

  1. The future is bright, I believe! The right-wing kicking and screaming against social progress and acceptance, I think, is a last death throe from those wishing to return to the “good old days” of their youth in the 50’s. Not such “good old days” for many back then. Today’s youth has got it going on! They are exposed to more information and aspects of society than any other generation of humanity before them. I think they will change things shortly in America. *fingers crossed* By the way, I would like to recommend another blog to you, called Atheist Dad. It is about parenting as an ex-Mormon atheist. You might enjoy it. If you do, tell him I sent you! Glad I discovered you through Fribnit. I’m adding you to my blog roll! BNB

    • Brick Window says:

      BNB, Thank you for reading and commenting! Yes, I am interested in Atheist Dad, of course! Another parent to commiserate with–oh yea! 🙂

      Your cheer about this up and coming group of adults makes me happy. I like how you pointed out their exposure to information. I tell my girls this all the time: you have no excuse to not know something today. Look it up! That’s why we pay all that money for your iPhones!

      • Brick Window says:

        I found you and Atheist Dad and I added you both to my blogroll. I am happy to have made of your acquaintances and I am really looking forward to reading much more of your blogs!

  2. Likewise! Keep up the good work!

  3. fribnit says:

    Makes me want to go back to college. Of course being 18 again woudl be nice if I could keep the hard won knowledge of the last 35+ years…….

  4. prosey says:

    Outstanding!!! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

